What’s My Motivation?

I was talking with a good friend last night. We were discussing the American Dream. Back in the day, the American Dream is what people worked to achieve. The well-paying job they’d never lose, nice house, car, etc. is what motivated Americans to thrive. We became the greatest superpower in modern history because of it. The American Dream inspired and motivated people to create and push ever forward. It is what attracted the best and brightest from around the world. The American Dream was what made America a shining beacon.

But the American Dream was illusory or at best, temporary. Now that the bottom has fallen out from under our old motivation, what’s left? What drives America now? What keeps us inspired and motivated? What instills that need to create and achieve? The need for iThings and big T.V’s? The desire to sign your life over to your choice of corporation or government institution? Maybe our motivation lies in an overwhelming desire to sink into debt?

I’m thinking…..

And thinking….

And thinking….

And the answer is…nothing. There is literally nothing pure left to motivate us.

And that, friends, is why I’m living for a Renaissance.

About Universal Shift

I am the Sonata Unusual. I coat myself with some obtuse angle too far below zero to become any warmer. I create motivation, activate schemas, moisten gardens with scents of natural honeydew. Construct this meaning, you sleepy flock. Silence your singing—despairing contortions out of tune. Shatter the brittle butterfly glass with your hideous wailing. I am born of my god’s imagination. When I die I shall meet him. For there are many things to discuss over tea…or scotch.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Author, Philosophy, Religion and Spirituality, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. the game is over when success is expected.
    the game is over when people are guaranteed success.
    the game is over when losers gain more than winners.
    the game never begins if everyone gets a ribbon.

  2. When you stop the “thinking” and start living in the moment and for the moment this Renaissance will have come. For you and for everybody….

    • Thanks for the input! However, the day I stop “thinking” is the day I die. In my experience, thinking IS living in the moment. Thought is creation. It doesn’t get much more in the moment than that! 😀

  3. Thanks for the reply 🙂 Yes you are right. But when I write stop thinking what I really mean is stop identifying with thinking. Your essense identity, lets say, as a human being is much more than your calculating mind. Well, according to how I experience this whole journey called life at least. You can create with your mind beautifully. It is a wonderful tool we have. But “we” have it. We are not our minds. We are the “users”. We are the “watchers”. We are awareness itself.To drop what we call the ego is the whole key. That which makes us separate from the whole and of course from other humans. That’s what all spiritual traditions are pointing towards. I never want to convince someone about something. Just putting in words my truth. My experience.
    Beautiful post though!

  4. I don’t disagree with what you say. I think we’re pointing at the same cloud. Only I’m saying it’s a bunny rabbit and you’re saying it’s a fire truck.

  5. ”And the answer is…nothing. There is literally nothing pure left to motivate us”; I am not an American but as a human when I look at humanity this phrase culminates…

  6. I am sorry I am new to blogging or wordpress so by mistake press wrong button… you know what I mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

