Daily PK Dick-isms

Today’s Daily Dick-ism explores the notions of salvation, the illusion of reality and how PKD attacks these issues in his writing.

“Salvation–from what? From the world, which is an iron prison…God did not design such a structure of suffering: he extricates us from it, and restores us as part of him. This is the acosmic view in all my writings: the empirical world is a fraud, counterfeit. I write about reality as an illusion because it is, and I see that it is. Thus my witness is tremendously powerful attack on the world–but I am just now realizing that this view (of world as illusion) is Gnostic. My corpus of writing is an assault on the created universe of matter, highly original and accurate. It (the view) discloses the deceptive nature of empirical reality–now I have had it revealed to me that this world is an impediment between us (man) and God.”

–Philip K. Dick The Exegesis pp.276 and 277

About Universal Shift

I am the Sonata Unusual. I coat myself with some obtuse angle too far below zero to become any warmer. I create motivation, activate schemas, moisten gardens with scents of natural honeydew. Construct this meaning, you sleepy flock. Silence your singing—despairing contortions out of tune. Shatter the brittle butterfly glass with your hideous wailing. I am born of my god’s imagination. When I die I shall meet him. For there are many things to discuss over tea…or scotch.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Author, Philosophy, Religion and Spirituality, Spirituality, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I will agree 100% … so true!

  2. Indeed. PKD was ahead of his time in many ways.

  3. Thank you for introducing the man… since I didn’t read modern authors a lot… I just found out there are many Hollywood films based on his short stories and novels… out of which most recent I watched was ‘The Adjustment Bureau’, I have been wanting to watch ‘The Minority Report’ but didn’t get a chance, now I am curious and inquisitive to read his work (preferably.. if available online).
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0181689/

  4. Scanner Darkly, Bladerunner and Paycheck are a few more movies based on PKD stories. I suggest reading Ubik or VALIS. These two works had a powerful influence on his Exegesis.

  5. Its a long list … whoa! I will now find out the 2 you have suggested and submit my feedback in time. Thanks once again!

Leave a Reply

