Daily Wisdom-isms

Ah, the Tao te Ching. Such a poetic and lovely piece of literature. So simple, yet infinitely complex. I’m partial to the Stephen Mitchell translation. It inspired me very early on in my Search and I attribute a lot of my “Enlightening Up” to the understandings it revealed to me. I hope it can offer some inspiration for you as well. Enjoy!

“Fame or integrity: Which is more important?
Money or happiness: which is more valuable?
Success or failure: which is more destructive?

If you look to others for fulfillment,
you will never truly be fulfilled.
If you happiness depends on money,
you will never be happy with yourself.

Be content with what you have;
rejoice in the way things are.
When you realize there is nothing lacking,
the whole world belongs to you.” —-The Tao Te Ching. 44

About Universal Shift

I am the Sonata Unusual. I coat myself with some obtuse angle too far below zero to become any warmer. I create motivation, activate schemas, moisten gardens with scents of natural honeydew. Construct this meaning, you sleepy flock. Silence your singing—despairing contortions out of tune. Shatter the brittle butterfly glass with your hideous wailing. I am born of my god’s imagination. When I die I shall meet him. For there are many things to discuss over tea…or scotch.

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Author, Philosophy, Religion and Spirituality, Spirituality, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Inspiring… errrrr but I have a question which is a sad one indeed: how will we live? how will we pay taxes? okay do not send a drone attack I am too cute for that 😀

  2. I see no complexity in the poem above. It is so true and natural as the crystal clear water. In fact, without knowing it, it was already part of my way of thinking. I guess many people in this society in which we live, could find it inspiring or challenging, but that doesn’t change the great truth that contains:

    Be content with what you have;
    rejoice in the way things are.
    When you realize there is nothing lacking,
    the whole world belongs to you.”

    Naturally… just add that many people swim in the illusion of owning things, when the truth is that properties really own you …

  1. Pingback: Monday- It’s a New Day « shoppolished

  2. Pingback: tao te ching | mindscapes and galactic travels

Leave a Reply

