Daily Wisdom-isms

Today’s Truth comes from Meditations, by Marcus Aurelius. It fascinates me that Christian theology really isn’t as set in stone as we are led to believe. During and just after the time of Christ was a period of high energy on the earth. People were trying to figure out what had just happened. There was a push for spirituality the likes of which hasn’t been seen again. This is a daily affirmation suggested by Marcus. Enjoy!

“Begin in the morning by saying to yourself, I shall meet with the busybody, the ungrateful, arrogant, deceitful, envious, unsocial. All these things happen to them by reason of their ignorance of what is good and evil. But I who have seen the nature of the good that it is beautiful, and of the bad that is ugly, and the nature of him who does wrong, that it is akin to mine, not only of the same blood or seed, but that it participates in the same intelligence and the same portion of divinity, I can neither be harmed by any of them, for no one can fix on me what is ugly, nor can I be angry with my brother, nor hate him.

For we are made for cooperation, like feet, like hands, like eyelids, like the rows of upper and lower teeth. To act against one then is contrary to nature.” —Meditations

About Universal Shift

I am the Sonata Unusual. I coat myself with some obtuse angle too far below zero to become any warmer. I create motivation, activate schemas, moisten gardens with scents of natural honeydew. Construct this meaning, you sleepy flock. Silence your singing—despairing contortions out of tune. Shatter the brittle butterfly glass with your hideous wailing. I am born of my god’s imagination. When I die I shall meet him. For there are many things to discuss over tea…or scotch.

Posted on April 4, 2012, in Author, Philosophy, Religion and Spirituality, Spirituality, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like this post 🙂 I wish if this world becomes a better place some day – some way!

Leave a Reply

