Daily Wisdom-isms: Memories, Dreams, Reflections 2

Another great quote from Jung. In it, he muses on the lack of spirituality and neurotics in modern society. I’m telling you, this guy was on to something! Enjoy!

“I have frequently seen people become neurotic when they content themselves with inadequate or wrong answers to the questions of life. They seek position, marriage, reputation, outward success or money, and remain unhappy and neurotic even when they have attained what they were seeking. Such people are usually confined within too narrow a spiritual horizon. Their life has not sufficient content, sufficient meaning. If they are enabled to develop into more spacious personalities, the neurosis generally disappears.

The majority of my patients consisted not of believers, but of those who had lost their faith. The ones who came to me were the lost sheep. Even in this day and age the believer has the opportunity, in his church, to live the symbolic life. We need only to think of the experience of Mass, of baptism, of the imitatio Christi, and many other aspects in religion. But to live and experience symbols presupposes a vital participation on the part of the believer, and only too often is this lacking in people today. In the neurotic it is almost always lacking.”

About Universal Shift

I am the Sonata Unusual. I coat myself with some obtuse angle too far below zero to become any warmer. I create motivation, activate schemas, moisten gardens with scents of natural honeydew. Construct this meaning, you sleepy flock. Silence your singing—despairing contortions out of tune. Shatter the brittle butterfly glass with your hideous wailing. I am born of my god’s imagination. When I die I shall meet him. For there are many things to discuss over tea…or scotch.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Author, Fiction, Philosophy, Religion and Spirituality, Spirituality, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awesome! I wish if I could scream out loud these words to those who are deaf to the voices of reality!

Leave a Reply

